Hard work paid off for many Sturgeon County volunteers recognized for their efforts.
The Sturgeon Proud Awards Ceremony was held on Wednesday (Apr.18).
“The annual event is a great opportunity to honour and recognize our wonderful volunteers who are the heart and soul of our community, they are outstanding individuals who give their time, experience and passion without expecting anything in return. They are the difference between a community just existing or absolutely thriving.” said Sturgeon County mayor Alanna Hnatiw.
While there were many awards to hand out, this year’s Building Blocks of the Community Award went to two youth, Ryley Fetter and Heather Heron.
“This is the first time in a very long time that the youth have given awards to other youth. Often times it’s adults in their lives, so it was really inspiring to see youth giving a Building Blocks Award to other youth,” said community development coordinator with community services, Shelly Chubb.
The particular award was started by youth many years ago to honour community members or volunteers that have helped young people grow and become better leaders.
“They (the award winners) came and volunteered their time to help with our youth connect conference and they helped our youth council put together a panel on mental health awareness and they came out after school and after work quite a few times,” said Chubb.
She described the night as amazing to see. Those from youth to seniors making a difference in the community and volunteering their time “to make their community a vital and exciting place to live.”
A full list of winners can be found below:
Excellence in Agriculture:
Kampjes Farms
Lakeside Dairy
Ment-2B Agribusiness Ltd.
Reden Farms
Building Blocks of the Community:
Ryley Fetter
Heather Heron
Volunteers of the Year:
Elsie Belziuk - Fedorah Ivan Franko Educational Society
Ken Berube - Calahoo Minor Ball
Calvin Borle- RQB Minor Hockey
Sandra & Ryan Brenneis - West Country Hearth
Don Case - Mearns Community Association
Mary Giguere - Villeneuve Happy Sixties Seniors Club
Scott Fuhr & Brad Kordyback - Cardiff Community Association
Sandra Kieftenbeld - Riviere Qui Barre Agricultural Society
Karyn Kondro - Sturgeon Victim Services Unit
Brett Majeau - West Sturgeon Agricultural Society
Peggy McConnell - Coronado Community Association
Francoise & Norm Meunier - Sturgeon Rural Crime Watch
Brian & Sheila Redlik - Gibbons Seniors Twilight Club
Peter Skamakis - Calahoo Golden Agers
Wanda Thompson - St. Charles Angels Club
Paige Veenstra - Namao Preschool
Nicole Wildfong - Namao Preschool
Victor Zadunayski - Waugh Hall
Gayel Zylstra - Redwater & District Seniors Transportation Society

More Local News

Inter Pipeline still on time and budget after big move

Inter Pipeline’s $3.5-billion petrochemical complex continues to move along smoothly.

Jessica Littlewood staying put as NDP nominee

Current Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville MLA Jessica Littlewood is sticking around.

Local MLA not seeking re-election

Strathcona-Sherwood Park MLA Estefania Cortes-Vargas will not be seeking re-election this year.

Around 2,200 vehicles to convoy through Fort Sask Tuesday

Tuesday's (Jan.22) drive could get interesting.

Dr. Vincenzo Visconti gets permanent ban in Alberta

A local doctor has been ousted in Alberta.

Fort Sask not using calcium chloride on roads

The City of Fort Saskatchewan continues to use the same de-icing agent as previous years on local roads.

St. Albert resident wins $7.9 million on LOTTO 6/49

An Alberta man recently hit the jackpot.

EIPS kindergarten registration to open next month

It's almost time for parents to register their kids for kindergarten.

Another massive load heading to Industrial Heartland

A second huge piece of equipment is about to travel on our highways.

15 taken into custody after drug bust

Area police detachments have teamed up in a recent drug bust.

DiscoverWestman.com is Westman's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.

Search the Biz Guide