A number of local women were recognized for their contributions within the community on Wednesday night (Mar.6).
The 2019 Fort Saskatchewan International Women's Day Awards Gala saw nearly 50 nominees up for seven awards.
"This event is near and dear to my heart just because it's a great time to make your voice heard and to break down some barriers," said Lisa Crawford, the winner of this year's Humanitarian award. "It's about finding equality. We need to start breaking down these boundaries and to make a day like this every single day."
The event also featured a panel discussion, which was moderated by Katherine Waller, who won the Mentorship award at last year's gala.
While some had attended the event in the past, it was the first time for others, such as Jennifer Lucas, who took home the 2019 Professional Achievement award.
"It's really quite inspiring to see such a collection of women doing such great things in our community," Lucas said. "I'm a longstanding member of the community — I've been here for 45 years — and it's lovely to see so much thought and care within the female community."
All nominees and awards winners are below.
Women’s Well-being:
Brenna Bouchard, Dalia El Sayed, Danielle Lequire, Fran Welter, Irene Bobocel, Lisa Crawford, Rachel Spirig and Stacy Westman
Winner: Rachel Spirig
Professional Achievement:
Carole McGowan, Cynthia Walker, Danielle Macarthur, Dr. Tammy Cameron, Janice Lindseth, Jennifer Lucas, Lisa Crawford, Michelle Wakal, Dr. Shanine Lafreniere, Tamara Whitton, Valerie Erickson and Victoria Armstrong
Winner: Jennifer Lucas
April Jennings, Brianne Lolacher, Carole Bossert, Kelly Yanch, Meghan Pollard, Deidre Craggs, Mishelle Wehbe, Sandy Price, Shelly Komlance, Susan Kerr, Tammy Plamondon and Tamara Dabels
Winner: Brianne Lolacher
Exemplary Youth:
Carmelita Santana, Cassidy Sinclair and Michayla Craggs
Winner: Michayla Craggs
Arts and Culture:
Aurea Quinzon, Cynthia Walker and Norma Leader
Winner: Norma Leader
Carole Bossert, Kathryn Dominique, May-Lee Buban and Tanya Shewchuk
Winner: Tanya Shewchuk
Carole Bossert, Kathy Stevenson and Lisa Crawford
Winner: Lisa Crawford

More Local News

Poor visibility in the heartland

Use extra caution on your drive to work.

École Campbelltown celebrate French heritage

As part of their month-long celebration “Mois de la francophonie albertaine” the students and staff of École Campbelltown held a special flag-raising ceremony for International Francophonie Day.

Update: region experiencing elevated pollution levels

Higher pollution levels are affecting the air quality.

Freedom Conservatives choose Malcolm Stinson for Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville

Malcolm Stinson was recently selected as the Freedom Conservative Party of Alberta candidate in Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville.

Two pedestrians hit in crosswalks

Keep an eye out for pedestrians.

Chamber hosting All Candidate Forum for provincial election

Residents will soon have the chance to hear from their candidates.

Operation Red Nose provides $5,600 in community grants

Several youth-based community groups recently received some funding.

Fort Sask Wellness Hub for Youth gaining support from local partners

A new project in the Fort is getting support from many different realms.

Public pool usage down in Redwater

Last summer wasn't the strongest for the Redwater Pool.

Warm weather increasing danger of thin ice

With spring on the way, ice safety is becoming more important.

DiscoverWestman.com is Westman's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.

Search the Biz Guide