Several local hockey players were re-confirmed to Team Canada's roster. 

Team Canada has officially revealed the roster for the rescheduled 2022 World Junior Hockey Championship, which begins next Tuesday (Aug. 9) in Edmonton. Included on the 25-man roster are Fort Saskatchewan's Olen Zellweger and former Fort Ranger Sebastian Cossa.  

The tournament was originally supposed to take place in December 2021. However, it was postponed at the time due to a COVID-19 outbreak. Players born in 2002 or later remain eligible for the tournament, which typically requires players under 20 to enter.

Connor Bedard, the projected No. 1 pick in next year's NHL draft, is again on the roster.

Here’s who else made the cut for Team Canada: 


  • Connor Bedard 
  • Will Cuylle 
  • Elliot Desnoyers 
  • William Dufour 
  • Tyson Foerster 
  • Nathan Gaucher 
  • Ridly Greig 
  • Kent Johnson 
  • Riley Kidney 
  • Mason McTavish 
  • Zack Ostapchuk 
  • Brennan Othmann 
  • Joshua Roy 
  • Logan Stankoven 


  • Lukas Cormier 
  • Daemon Hunt 
  • Carson Lambos 
  • Ryan O'Rourke 
  • Donovan Sebrango 
  • Ronan Seeley 
  • Jack Thompson 
  • Olen Zellweger 


  • Brett Brochu 
  • Sebastian Cossa 
  • Dylan Garand 

Canada has won the event a record 18 times, including in 2018 and 2020. Russia will not be participating in the tournament because of IIHF sanctions following its invasion of Ukraine.

The World Juniors run from Aug. 9-20 at Rogers Place in Edmonton.