Recipients for this years Strathcona County Awards of Excellence have been revealed. 

The awards ceremony will be held on June 13 at Festival Place starting at 7:00 p.m. with doors opening at 6:30 p.m.

“The Strathcona County Awards of Excellence is our County’s opportunity to recognize extraordinary citizens, businesses and organizations for their contributions and positive impact on our community,” said Mayor Rod Frank.

The categories and winners are listed below.

Mayor’s Award

Strathcona Food Bank Association

Agricultural Leadership

Ardelle McPherson

Arts, Culture and Heritage

Giselle Denis

Sherwood Park Music Festival

Athletic Achievement

Lisa DeJong

Kelsey Mitchell

Community Service

Ken Lesniak

Christine Zurburg

Economic Diversification

Russell Bird

Mark Silvius

Heroism and Leadership

Jesse Christenson

Gregg Hansen

Outstanding Group

Ardrossan Recreation and Agriculture Society and Josephburg Agriculture Society

Sherwood Park - Strathcona County Primary Care Network

Service to Seniors

Laurette Phimester


Alyssa Stoddard

Cyber Eagles Robotics Team


This year the event will feature special guest performances and more. It is free to attend and everyone is welcome to come support the recipients.

More information about the Strathcona County Awards of Excellence is available on the county website.