Strathcona County has announced the recipients of its 2023 Awards of Excellence.

“The Strathcona County Awards of Excellence is the County’s opportunity to recognize extraordinary people, businesses and organizations for their contributions and positive impact on our community,” said county mayor Rod Frank.

Recipients include a local athlete who has run over 115 marathons, a two-time winner of the Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal, and even a youth who showed leadership not only at his school but in the county as a whole.

Here is a list of those receiving an award:

Mayor’s Award

  • Bryce Clarke

Agricultural Leadership 

  • Brock Fenske

Arts, Culture and Heritage 

  • Kay McCormack
  • Diana Balbar

Athletic Achievement  

  • Ken Davison
  • Tyson Rietveld

Community Service

  • Gwen Randall-Young
  • Jessica Moen
  • Terri-Ann Trohubiak

Economic Diversification

  • Concrete Blonde
  • True Balance Medical Spa

Heroism and Leadership 

  • Eric Atkinson
  • Leta Shannon

Outstanding Group 

  • Linking Generations
  • Strathcona Highland Society

Service to Seniors

  • Ruth Lineker
  • Doug Flowers


  • Keegan Kirchen
  • Terren Algot
  • Lucas Sawiak

An event celebrating these winners will be held at Festival Place on June 1st.