There could soon be changes to local federal electoral ridings. 

According to the Federal Electoral Boundaries Commissioner for Alberta, population growth and the addition of three new electoral districts will require adjustments to every electoral district in the province. Census data shows Alberta’s population grew from 3,645,257 in 2011 to 4,262,635 in 2021.

Some rural electoral districts grew while others moderately declined, with most of the growth occurring in the two largest cities (Calgary and Edmonton) and their surrounding communities.

As a result, the Commission proposes adding the City of Beaumont to the Sherwood Park-Fort Saskatchewan riding's southern boundary. Fort Saskatchewan, however, would become part of the Lakeland electoral district. The Commission recommends renaming the new riding Sherwood Park-Beaumont, based on the changes.

Sherwood Park-BeaumontThe new proposed boundary for Sherwood Park-Beaumont shaded in pink. 

Along with Fort Saskatchewan, Redwater and Gibbons, currently within Sturgeon River-Parkland, would be added to Lakeland.

Additionally, changes are being considered for Sturgeon River-Parkland. According to the Commission, St. Albert should be included in the electoral district. This configuration is likely to allow St. Albert and other Francophone communities to maintain their historical and cultural communities of interest.

Only a small portion of Parkland County remains within the reconfigured electoral district, so the district would be changed to Sturgeon River. 

Sturgeon RiverThe proposed changes to Sturgeon River-Parkland would include the City of St. Albert. 

The Commission's goal is to create electoral districts as close as reasonably possible to the provincial quota of 115,206, appropriately considering historical patterns, community interests, and geographic areas.