Fort Saskatchewan is moving on to a new city council.
The last council was elected in 2017 and consisted of mayor Gale Katchur along with Jibs Abitoye, Gordon Harris, Brian Kelly, Deanna Lennox, Lisa Makin and Ed Sperling.
During their final meeting in September, the seven took turns talking about the last four years and what they had accomplished together.
"I'm incredibly proud of this council. I know we didn't always agree on a lot of things, but we were all passionate about moving this community forward, and I think that's what we did in the last four years," said Abitoye.
Some tears were shed as councillors reflected on how hard they had worked, the patience and dedication of administration, and their ability to push past their differences to make real change in the community.
Some of their bigger projects and accomplishments include getting approval to twin the Highway 15 bridge, creating cannabis bylaws when it became legalized, annexing land from Strathcona County and getting the community through the first year and a half of the pandemic.
"It was very emotional for everybody," said Katchur. "We just wanted to reach out and hug one another and thank one another for being a team and working together."
Katchur was re-elected as mayor last week. Abitoye, Harris, Kelly and Makin are also all back on council, with Lennox being beaten out in the mayoral race and Sperling retiring.
Patrick Noyen and Birgit Blizzard will be joining the new city council.
Their first meeting is on Tuesday (Oct.26).