Lamont County Emergency Services honoured staff and volunteers through their first regional gala.

On March 11, Lamont County’s regional fire chief and reeve David Diduck and CAO Peter Tarnawsky recognized the efforts and commitment of their local emergency services.

“Working together as Lamont County volunteer firefighters and staff means we have a strong, coordinated response to events occurring across the county,” said Diduck. “It helps ensure that we have an effective response and safe communities.”

The event featured their Firefighter Awards, which included the Robert A. Mitchell Dedication Award, named after the longest-serving firefighter in Canadian history.

Here were the award winners:

Firefighter of the Year: Nick Mercer.
Recruit Firefighter of the Year: Amber Thiessen.
Leadership Excellence: Scott Calder.
Officer of the Year: Correen Hosack.
Robert A. Mitchell Dedication Award: Dan Bowman.

Also recognized at the gala was regional fire chief Shayne Milliken, who has served in Lamont County for the past 15 years. Now he's moving on to work with Alberta Health Services.