The 37 nominees for the International Women's Day Awards in Fort Saskatchewan gathered for a meet and greet Thursday night.

Co-Chair Amy Penny notes the quality of the nominations was much better this year as she could tell people put a lot of thought and commitment into their forms.  Penny explains it was a more casual evening before the actual 2nd annual gala to learn more about the nominees.  Penny says this is this first year they've had a meet and greet, and the second year holding a Gala.  Penny adds this is the fourth year they've done something to recognize women.

Bella Oxborrow is one of the three nominees for the Multicultural Award and is involved with helping new immigrants. (Sometimes she invites new immigrants to the farm to plant gardens because she loves gardening.)  Oxborrow says she was surprised and felt great because she was recognized.  Oxborrow notes lots of people here in Fort Saskatchewan are generous, kind and helpful so that's why she lives here.  Bella is originally from the Philippines and has lived in Fort Saskatchewan for 22 years.

Here's the full list nominees:

4 Women's Health and Well-being: Vanessa Layborne, Katie Calverly, Tammy Thackray & Katelyn Williams.

8 Business: Kim Mosher, Nadine Stielow, Barb Brockholdt Andrews, Tamara Bellamy, Rosemary Malowany, Dione Chambers, Katelyn Williams and Jodie Crawford.

12 Volunteerism: Jean Whiting, Joan Bredy, Kathie Sutherland, Heather Verhoeven, Judy Wolfe, Odette Leidl, Joyce Taylor, Mary Newman-Dorosario, Sandra Mueller, Gail Shkolny, Joan Luchkow, Laura Harkin & Eleanor Heesing.

3 Multicultural: Kristine Osbaldeston, Bella Oxborrow & Patty Harrigan.

4 Forward Thinking: Carole Bossert, Gale Katchur, Lindsay Reed & Jenell Derosiers.

3 Arts: Jessica Spiridakis, Amanda Milke & Winnie McLachlan.

3 Humarnitarian: Candice Kalyn, Sister Ada Toner & Emma Rockwell.

Stay tuned to MIX 107.9 and for more about the nominees before the Gala.

2016 01 25 Women'sMeetGreet (2)