Two nearby counties are taking extra precautions.
As of 3 p.m. on Friday (Apr.16), Sturgeon County is under a fire restriction. The restriction also applies to the towns of Bon Accord, Legal and Redwater.
“We have been monitoring the local conditions along with the situation in neighbouring municipalities,” said the county's fire chief Pat Mahoney. “Given the lack of moisture, the conditions are at a level where fires can start and grow easily, as we have seen with some grass fires in the region, and it has become necessary to reduce the threat of fires by issuing a fire restriction for the county.”
The limitations caused by the fire restriction include:
- No new burn permits or fireworks permits will be issued. 
- All current fire and or fireworks permits issued are suspended until further notice. 
- All outdoor fires presently burning, whether set under the authority of a fire permit or not, are required to be extinguished immediately.
Use of backyard fire pits for warming or cooking, propane barbeques, portable propane fireplaces and propane heaters are still permitted under this restriction. This restriction also does not apply to the use of all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) or off-highway vehicles.
Lamont County
On Thursday (Apr.15) at 4 p.m., Lamont County also issued a fire restriction, which applies to all the county's hamlets and rural areas.
The fire restriction prohibits the issuance of fire permits, discharge of fireworks and rescinds all previously approved fire permits and fireworks discharge permits.
Safe fires in burning barrels, fire pits contained with non-combustible material with a metal mesh screen, charcoal briquette barbecues, propane/gas barbecues, and propane/gas fire pits are still allowed. However, all types must be supervised and extinguished before leaving unattended.
Currently, there are no restrictions for communities such as Fort Saskatchewan, Strathcona County, Bruderheim, Lamont, Gibbons and Morinville.