Six new proposals have been given the go-ahead to explore how carbon storage hubs can reduce emissions in Alberta's industrial heartland.

Companies will be invited to work with the province to evaluate the suitability of each location for safely storing industrial carbon emissions. 

If the evaluation proves the projects can provide permanent storage, companies will work with the government on an agreement allowing them to inject captured carbon dioxide underground. The deal would also ensure open access to all emitters and affordable use of the storage hub. 

"We are ensuring that carbon capture and sequestration will be deployed responsibly and strategically over the long term in the best interest of Albertans. This will help meet the increasing demand from industry and help significantly reduce emissions," said the province's Energy Minister Sonya Savage. 

Only projects meeting "Alberta's rigorous safety and environmental standards" will be approved by the Alberta Energy Regulator. 

The list of proposals and companies includes: 

  • Meadowbrook Hub Project, Bison Low Carbon Ventures Inc. for a potential hub in Sturgeon County
  • The Open Access Wabamun Carbon Hub, Enbridge Inc., for a potential hub west of Edmonton
  • The Origins Project, Enhance Energy Inc. for a potential sequestration hub south of Edmonton
  • Alberta Carbon Grid™, Pembina Pipeline Corporation and TC Energy for a potential hub near Fort Saskatchewan 
  • Atlas Carbon Sequestration Hub (Atlas Hub), Shell Canada Limited, ATCO Energy Solutions Ltd. Suncor Energy Inc., for a potential hub in the industrial heartland 
  • Wolf Midstream and partners for a potential hub in the Fort Saskatchewan area. 

There are currently two carbon capture and storage facilities in Alberta; the Alberta Carbon Trunk Project and the Shell Scotford complex's facility which opened in 2015. Both have captured and stored more than seven million tonnes of carbon dioxide since operations began. 

A second request for full project proposals to provide carbon storage services to regions across the rest of the province is now open. Applications will be accepted from Apr. 25 to May 2.