Alberta issued a province-wide fire ban on May 5.

This ban only affects the Forest Protection Area (FPA) of Alberta. Cities, towns, villages, and National Parks are not covered by this fire ban. 

These jurisdictions have the authority to issue their own bans, with many already putting bans in place, such as Strathcona County, Sturgeon County, Lamont County, and Fort Saskatchewan. 

All outdoor wood fires are not allowed, including wood campfires on public land, private land, and provincial campgrounds. Backyard firepits, charcoal grills, fireworks, and even exploding targets are also prohibited.

The fire ban was put in place due to the recent hot and dry conditions. People found burning during a fire ban may be issued a $600 ticket. Those found responsible for starting a wildfire may be charged with the cost of fighting the fire.

Alberta has also issued a province-wide state of emergency due to the fires. This gives the provincial government a higher level of coordination, around-the-clock monitoring, access to emergency discretionary funds, and the ability to mobilize additional support.

Alberta Forestry, Parks, and Tourism are monitoring conditions on a daily basis and will remove the fire ban when conditions improve.

For exact locations of fire bans, you can visit the Alberta Fire Bans website by clicking here.